Posted by: AmbleAlong | May 1, 2013

Happy May Day! (Or is it mayday, as in SOS…)

Spring is a time for new beginnings. You get to wake up, shake off the blahs from winter, and forge a new path. I know that according to the calendar, Spring 2013 has been with us for a while, but personally I have still been in a rut…

My college friends and I would always buy daisies for May Day just to celebrate and cheer up our dorm rooms. There was just something magical about letting in a little of the outside beauty that turned the frowns of finals week upside down!

daisies

Even now, years removed from my college days, I still like to see those little glimpses of a new start or a completed project that I can tie up with a bow. Perhaps its just my own experience, but sadly I find that far fewer things ever get completed than get started…

At work, for instance, we can all feel overwhelmed at times by deadlines, requirements, measurable results, and evaluations. Our bosses, clients (internal and external), vendors, and even strategic partners always seem to rate higher than our own needs. It’s enough to make you want to hide your head in the sand…

Each of us has just 24 hours every day, and we need to realize how important it is in the midst of chaos to make room for our own thoughts and wellness.  I hope that each of you truly carves out a few minutes for yourself today (and hopefully going forward, too!) where you can sit back to enjoy a little sunshine, appreciate a wildflower, read the paper, or do whatever constitutes “me” time for you.   As for me, I am going to enjoy my newly mounted vacation photos that whisk me away to Europe…

;O)


Leave a comment

Categories