Posted by: AmbleAlong | December 6, 2011

Insider Travel Tip: Keep It Together

For my inaugural post to the “Insider Travel Tip” series, I wanted to make sure and send out a really important tip.  I am going with “Keep It Together” (or KIT if you prefer a mnemonic).

Basically, I am encouraging you to keep all of your needed travel papers and documents together in one place where all of the folks traveling with you know to find them.  In my case this is usually an itinerary, maps, flight information (travel times and flight numbers), reservation information (car and hotel), passport, emergency contacts list, and trip insurance paperwork.

I tend to favor an old fashioned two-pocket folder.  It is not glamorous, but it is functional and you can separate your “to” and “from” travel information into the opposing sides.  After packing the folder, it gets slid into a backpack and is only taken out when needed – like at the airport.

Happy traveling!

:O)

Responses

  1. Good tip! But sometimes the best travel is when no plans are made in advance. Book a flight and go, worry about the other stuff when you get there. In this case, the only thing you need to worry about is your wallet and passport. Thanks for sharing your tip though, as a fellow traveler, I know how important it is to keep everything together, at least when necessary.

    Nate

  2. Thanks for the tip! I hate searching through my bags to find things, like my flight information. I have learned, keeping things together also saves time at ticket counters etc… and you get onto your vacation quicker!

    I look forward to more of your ideas and tips!

  3. I use a similar system. I am a professional trip planner and provide day by day packets. Some people like Nate like to travel ad hoc but many other people like to have an idea where they will spend the night, where they can eat, what things they can see and do. Both styles work, but if you need the paperwork it is better to have it organized.


Leave a Reply

Categories

