Posted by: AmbleAlong | December 12, 2012

Happy 12/12/12!

Hi all!  I have been away from Wordpress for a bit as the job I am paid for won out in the battle for my time over the job I love (blogging about travel, though today’s post is more of a general comment).  Hopefully I will now be back on a more consistent basis, and I hope you like what you read!

Today is 12/12/12!  As many of you know, twelve is my favorite number in the world. I like that it is balanced. I like that it is an even number. I like that you can signal someone the number using just one hand…  There is no hard and fast reason for my appreciation of the number 12 (though I was born in December), I just plain like it and always have!

In recent discussions I have discovered some familiar themes popping up: the standards (preparing for the holidays, a weight-loss plan for the new year) but also some new stars on the rise (happiness, improving for yourself not others, doing what you feel is important).  Without a doubt I will continue to enjoy the holiday season, but I am starting to really like the direction these new topics are taking me toward… A better me on all fronts!

One big thing I need to incorporate into my actions is to not try to do everything myself. For this reason alone, I love this quote:

Be selective in your battles, don’t make every problem a war.   ~ Unknown

This quote is something I will be keeping in mind as I work with customers and disagree with co-workers.  It is every bit as important when I tackle a workout at the gym or see family for Christmas.  When the issues and problems are big, approach them head-on.  If the little frustrations are so small that they should just be dusted under the rug, then do that and forget them.  Life can get so caught up in personality clashes and the little irksome tendencies that we forget the big picture entirely. (As my grandmother would often tell me, don’t make mountains out of molehills.)

The one thing I will always have free rein over changing is me, so I might as well get going…  After all, there will only be one 12/12/12 in my lifetime, and I might as well make my “perfect” day count!

Happy traveling, and happy holidays!

;o)

Responses

  1. I agree with your premise, that the only change we can really make is over ourselves.

    Happy 12/12/12 day!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 73 other followers

